TEQIP -III NIT Srinagar

Sponsored One Week Short Term Courses on Energy and Its Applications 8th – 12th September 2020



Organized by Department of Chemical Engineering National Institute of Technology Srinagar Hazratbal, Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir, India (An Institute of National Importance under Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India) https://www.nitsri.ac.in/

About TEQIP – III

Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP) was launched in December, 2002 by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, India with World Bank Assistance. The programme was conceived and designed as a long term project to be implemented in 10-12 years in 3 phases to support excellence and transformation in technical education in the country. The third phase of the programme, TEQIP – III was started in the year 2017 and will be ending in 2020. The main objective of TEQIP -III is to improve the quality of engineering education in the existing government institutions in the educationally backward states and also arrange for twinning them with other institutions like NITs and a few affiliating technical universities.

About the Course

The short term course provides an overview, understanding, recent developments and research skills in the field of Nuclear, Petroleum, Solar, Bio energy to the researchers, students and faculties to progress the quality of research in the area of energy and its applications. Energy engineering is a wide field of engineering concerning with energy efficiency, energy services, facility management, plant engineering, environmental compliance and alternative energy technologies.

Patron & Chairman Prof. Rakesh Sehgal, Hon'ble Director, NIT Srinagar **Co-Chairman** Prof. M. F. Wani, TEQIP-III Coordinator **Co-Chairman & Convener** Dr. M. A. Rather, Head, Department of Chemical Engineering **Course Coordinator(s)** Dr. B. Krishna Srihari Assistant Professor Department of Chemical Engineering Dr. Kurella Swamy Assistant Professor Department of Chemical Engineering **Dr. Asadur Rahman** Assistant Professor Department of Electrical Engineering **Advisory Committee Members**

Prof. Mohd. Noor Salam Khan, NIT Srinagar Dr. Fasil Qayoom Mir, NIT Srinagar Dr. Tanveer Rasool Dar, NIT Srinagar Dr. Malik Parvez Ahmad, NIT Srinagar Dr. Shashikant Kumar, NIT Srinagar Dr. Fatima Jalid, NIT Srinagar How to Apply

Registration Fee: Rs. 100/-For Online Transfer A/c Name: TEQIP-III A/c No: 0391040100011025 Bank Name & Branch: J & K Bank, REC Srinagar, IFSC Code: JAKA0RECSGR (0=zero)

Directly click the links given below and fill up the google doc application form. An incomplete application will not be entertained. Registration is

mandatory.

Registration Link:

https://forms.gle/hgAwTF6QegXyXyjX9 E-CERTIFICATE



Candidates successfully completing the course and submitting the daily feedback will be given a course completion e-certificate.

Tentative Schedule

| Bio-Energy | 8 th Sept' 2020 |
|--|-----------------------------|
| Biomass Gasification using ASPEN PLUS | 9 th Sept'2020 |
| Petroleum Energy | 10 th Sept' 2020 |
| Nuclear Energy | 11 th Sept' 2020 |
| Wind & Solar Energy | 12 th Sept'2020 |

About NIT Srinagar

National Institute of Technology Srinagar was established in 1960 as the Regional Engineering College Srinagar. It was one of the first eight Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) established by the Government of India during the first Five Year Plan (1956-61). It was upgraded to National Institute of Technology Srinagar in the year, 2003. NIT Srinagar is governed by the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007 which has declared it as an Institute of National Importance. It is one of the 31 NITs and it is directly under the control of the MHRD. The Institute is situated at the banks of world-famous Dal Lake. Besides running various undergraduate, post graduate and doctoral programmes.

Vision

To establish a unique identity of a pioneer technical Institute by developing a high quality technical manpower and technological resources that aim at economic and social development of the nation as a whole and the region in particular keeping in view the global challenges.

Mission

To create a strong and transformative technical educational environment in which fresh ideas, moral principles, research and excellence nurture with international standards. To prepare technically educated and broadly talented engineers, future innovators and entrepreneurs, graduates with understanding of the needs and problems of the industry, the society, the state and the nation. To inculcate the highest degree of confidence, professionalism, academic excellence and engineering ethics in budding engineers.

About the Chemical Engineering Department

Department of Chemical Engineering was established in the year 1963 for five year undergraduate

programme with total student intake of 25. The duration of degree was changed later in the year 1981 to four years. Currently Department offers B.Tech and M.Tech degree programmes with total intake of 92 and 18 students respectively. Students are also pursuing their Ph.D. research under the guidance of faculty members of the Department. The students are rigorously trained and evaluated on a continuous basis in order to transform them into world class Chemical Engineers. The academic programme schemes have also been designed in tune with the requirements of the industry. The Department has well equipped laboratories to compliment the theoretical courses taught at graduate and post graduate level and to handle research in thrust areas like Energy, Environment, Biotechnology, Separation Processes, Modeling and Simulation etc.

Expert Lectures to be Delivered by Prof. P. M. Satya Sai

Senior Scientist (Retd.) Bhabha Atomic Research Centre

Prof. Debendra Chandra Baruah

Professor, Department of Energy Tezpur University, Napaam, Tezpur Assam - 784028, India

Dr. Vilas Warudkar

Associate Professor Mechanical Engineering Department Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh Dr. K. Ravi Kumar Assistant Professor Centre for Energy Studies Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Dr. Mahendra Chinthala Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering National Institute of Technology Rourkela, Odisha

Mr. Naveen Kumar V Area Manager (I&C) Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. Secunderabad, Telangana State

Mr. Mohd. Muzaffar Ahsan Sr. Manager (R&D) Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. R&D Centre, Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh

Contact Details: 6005143233 / 6305824790 / 9957497127 or email to <u>sriharibonasi@nitsri.ac.in</u> / <u>kurellaswamy@nitsri.ac.in</u> / <u>asadur@nitsri.ac.in</u>